Kermit the Frog™ Helped Me Launch My Latest Side Hustle

Jonathan E.
6 min readMar 22, 2019

A few months ago, I decided to try my hand at freelance copywriting. Obviously, I enjoy writing, so it seemed like taking a more focused approach and actually using my talents to help other people express themselves with words seemed like a good place to start. I’ve done some ghost-writing for blogs in the past, but this time, I wanted to focus more on using words to help others be more successful.

Since that time, I’ve been involved in resumé writing and editing, composing cover letters for businesses, drafting numerous job proposals, and editing web and sales copy for startup businesses. Each, in its own way, is all about using the power of words, and my ability to put into writing what my clients are really trying to say.

What does any of this have to do with a beloved childhood character and a founder of the legendary Muppets™ franchise?

Well, I wouldn’t have gotten that first job without Kermit. I also wouldn’t have gotten my most recent job without Kermit. Let me explain.

One of the most difficult things about starting out on freelancing sites like Fiverr and Upwork is the expectation that you have an established portfolio. For some, who are looking to take their 9–to-5…

--

--